Football: Soccer round-up

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Stockport's postponed Coca-Cola Cup quarter-final against Southampton at Edgeley Park will now be played on Wednesday 22 January instead of the previous evening, and will be screened live by Sky Sports.

COCA-COLA CUP Semi-final draw: Stockport or Southampton v Middlesbrough; Ipswich or Leicester v Wimbledon. (Amended dates: First legs: 18 or 19 February. Second legs: 11 or 12 March).

The Nationwide Football League Under-21 side will take on an Italian Serie B Under-21 team at Genoa's Luigi Ferraris Stadium on Wednesday 19 February.

Fifa has agreed to the Republic of Ireland's request for their World Cup qualifier against Liechtenstein in Dublin to be brought forward to Wednesday 21 May from Saturday 7 June.

The former England defender Paul Parker has joined Fulham, where he started his professional career, on a match-to-match contract.

Heart of Midlothian have made their Italian defender Pasquale Bruno available on a free transfer.

Hibernian have appointed their former captain Jackie McNamara as their new assistant manager, ending a four-year exile from the game.

Clydebank will stage their Tennents Scottish Cup third-round tie against Celtic on Sunday 26 January at Firhill Park, Partick Thistle's ground.

The Ipswich Town chairman David Sheepshanks has been elected as the new chairman of the recently-reconstituted nine-man Football League board.

FA CARLING PREMIERSHIP Fixture changes: Wed 19 Feb: Derby v Sheffield Wednesday (from 1 Jan). Sun 16 Mar: Chelsea v Sunderland (from Sat 15 Mar). Wed 19 Mar: Chelsea v Southampton (from Wed 29 Jan). Sun 6 Apr: Liverpool v Coventry (from Sat 5 Apr).

NATIONWIDE FOOTBALL LEAGUE Fixture changes: Tue 14 Jan: Colchester v Fulham (from Tue 11 Feb). Tue 21 Jan: Postponed: York v Peterborough. Sat 25 Jan: Postponed: Shrewsbury v Peterborough. Mon 27 Jan: Luton v Watford (from Sun 26 Jan). Tue 4 Feb: Colchester v Leyton Orient (from 1 Jan). Tue 4 Mar: Brentford v Wycombe (from 1 Jan). Tue 11 Mar: Birmingham v Manchester City (from 1 Jan); Gillingham v Walsall (from 4 Jan). Tue 15 Apr: Brentford v Chesterfield (from 28 Dec).

AUTO WINDSCREENS SHIELD Fixture changes: Tue 21 Jan: Northampton v Luton; York v Preston (both from 7 Jan).

GM VAUXHALL CONFERENCE: Postponed: Tomorrow: Dover v Southport (frozen pitch).

BELL'S SCOTTISH LEAGUE Fixture changes: Tue 14 Jan: Postponed: Hamilton v Livingston. Wed 12 Feb: Albion Rovers v Forfar; Stranraer v Stenhousemuir (both from Wed 15 Jan).

Comments