Click to follow
The Independent Online
Sandy Brown (Tottenham Hotspur, 1901)

Scored a record 15 goals, at least one in every round, including the final and replay, as Southern League Spurs became the only non-league club ever to lift the trophy.

C B Fry (Southampton, 1902)

The full-back, one of the outstanding all-round sportsmen (England cricket and football; world record long jumper), was part of the last non-league side to reach the final, beating Liverpool 4-1 on the way.

Bill Sheppard (Walsall, 1933)

Arsenal won the championship five times in the 1930s but, against a Division Three side who had not won for a month, were powerless to stop Sheppard sealing the tie 2-0.

Alec Stock (Yeovil Town, 1949)

Later to be a Cup final losing manager with Fulham in 1975, the Yeovil player-manager scored the opener at The Huish as "Bank of England" team Sunderland were dispatched 2-1 in the fourth round.

Ray Crawford (Colchester United, 1971)

Before the fifth-round tie against Leeds, Crawford declared: "I always score against Jack Charlton." Crawford fulfilled his prophecy - twice - as the Division Four side won 3-2 against Don Revie's all-stars.

Ronnie Radford (Hereford, 1972)

The reason all Newcastle fans hate this time of year - his goal is repeated time and again on TV. On a mudbath at Edgar Street, Radford somehow lashed the ball in from 35 yards to ignite a famous comeback... and pitch invasion.

Ricky George (Hereford, 1972)

It was George who followed up with the knock-out blow in extra time as the Magpies' wings were clipped 2-1.

Dickie Guy (Wimbledon, 1975)

Goalkeeper who famously kept a clean sheet as the then Southern League team beat First Division Burnley 1-0 at Turf Moor. He repeated the feat, saving a Peter Lorimer penalty, as Leeds were held 0-0 in the fourth round. Only a Dave Bassett own goal in the replay denied him another.

Chris Kelly (Leatherhead, 1975)

The "Leatherhead Lip" registered on the scoresheet in both the third and fourth rounds as Brighton were beaten 1-0 before losing to Leicester 3-2.

Robert Hopkins (Birmingham, 1986)

The only giant to have killed his own team. Hopkins scored an own goal at St Andrews past David Seaman to see Altrincham triumph 2-1, thereby prompting the resignation of Birmingham manager Ron Saunders.

Matt Hanlan (Sutton United, 1989)

Coventry had lifted the Cup just 18 months before, but goals from Hanlan and Tony Rains subjected them to their most humiliating defeat. "I had to take two weeks off work to savour it," the bricklayer Hanlan said.