All the ups and downs from the Football League

A run down of all the teams who filled the promotion and relegation places

Click to follow
The Independent Football

After a packed day of action all of the country, here are all the ups and downs across the four leagues.


Cardiff and Fulham have both been relegated out of the Premier League. Cardiff lost 3-0 away to Newcastle while Stoke dominated Fulham and won 4-1. Sunderland’s 1-0 victory over Manchester United at Old Trafford condemned both to the Championship.

Relegated: Cardiff, Fulham.


Champions Leicester and runners up Burnley will be joined by either Derby, QPR, Wigan or Brighton in the Premier League next season. Brighton’s last minute winner beat Nottingham Forest to lift the Seagulls into the final play-off spot at the expense of Reading who could only draw with Brunley. Joining Yeovil and Barnsley in relegation to League One was Doncaster. Rovers lost 1-0 away to Leicester and Birmingham’s last minute equaliser at Bolton saw them safe and Doncaster down.

Champions: Leicester.

Promoted: Burnley.

Play-offs: Derby, QPR, Wigan, Brighton

Relegated: Yeovil, Barnsley, Doncaster


Wolves were crowned Champions and Brentford gained automatic promotion well before the final day. The play-offs, also confirmed before kick-off, will be contested by Preston, Leyton Orient, Rotherham and Peterborough. At the bottom Stevenage, Shrewsbury, Carlisle and Tranmere were all relegated to League Two with Notts County securing their place in the league on the last day.

Champions: Wolves.

Promoted: Brentford.

Play-offs: Preston, Leyton Orient, Rotherham, Peterborough.

Relegated: Stevenage, Shrewsbury, Carlisle, Tranmere


Chesterfield are the champions of League Two this season with Scunthorpe and Rochdale also gaining automatic promotion. The final promotion spot will go to one of Fleetwood, Burton, Southend or York after the play-offs are decided. Wycombe beat Torquay 3-0 away to send the Gulls down. Bristol Rover failed to beat Mansfield and joined Torquay in relegation.

Champions: Chesterfield

Promoted: Scunthorpe, Rochdale.

Play-offs: Fleetwood, Burton, Southend, York.

Relegated: Torquay, Bristol Rovers.