Battle of Britain looms after draw

Click to follow

Holders Manchester United will face Celtic in the Champions League group stages following the draw in Monaco.

Sir Alex Ferguson's side, who beat Premier League rivals Chelsea on penalties in the final in Moscow in May, were also joined by Spanish side Villarreal and Danish club Aalborg in Group E.

The trip to Spain to play Villarreal will bring back bad memories for England striker Wayne Rooney who was sent off playing against the same club in September 2005.

Rooney was dismissed after reacting to a booking by sarcastically applauding Kim Milton Nielsen's decision right under the referee's nose.

It left the man who famously sent David Beckham off during England's World Cup clash with Argentina in 1998 with little alternative other than to brandish a second yellow and dismiss Rooney from the field.

Runners-up Chelsea have been drawn in Group A along with Italian giants Roma, French side Bordeaux and Romanian club Cluj.

Luiz Felipe Scolari's team will look to go one better than last season when they were beaten on penalties by United.

Arsenal have been drawn in Group G with Porto, Fenerbahce and Dynamo Kiev.

Liverpool striker Fernando Torres faces an emotional return to former club Atletico Madrid after the Anfield outfit were drawn in Group D along with PSV Eindhoven and Marseille.

Former Chelsea coach Jose Mourinho, now in charge at Inter Milan, sees his side up against Werder Bremen, Panathinaikos and Cypriot side Anorthosis Famagusta in Group B.

Spanish giants Barcelona were drawn in a relatively easy Group C along with Sporting Lisbon, Basle and Shakhtar Donetsk.

Lyon are joined by Bayern Munich, Steaua Bucharest and Fiorentina in Group F.

Spanish champions Real Madrid will face Juventus, UEFA Cup winners Zenit St Petersburg and Bate Borisov in Group H.


Group A: Chelsea, Roma, Bordeaux, CFR Cluj

Group B: Inter Milan, Werder Bremen, Panathinaikos, Anorthosis Famagusta

Group C: Barcelona, Sporting Lisbon, Basle, Shakhtar Donetsk

Group D: Liverpool, PSV Eindhoven, Marseilles, Atletico Madrid

Group E: Manchester United, Villarreal, Celtic, AaB Aalborg

Group F: Lyon, Bayern Munich, Marseilles, Fiorentina

Group G: Arsenal, Porto, Fenerbahce, Dynamo Kiev

Group H: Real Madrid, Juventus, Zenit St Petersburg, BATE Borisov