Fletcher will miss out after referee stands by semi-final red card

Referee Roberto Rosetti stands by his decision to send off Manchester United's Darren Fletcher in the Champions League semi-final, second leg against Arsenal on the grounds that the Scotsman denied Cesc Fabregas a clear goalscoring opportunity.

Rosetti's verdict, delivered in his match report, is a "factual decision" under Uefa's system and can therefore not be revoked. The same goes for Barcelona's Eric Abidal, whom Uefa sources indicate will not be granted a reprieve for the final against United, though his dismissal for an apparent infringement against Chelsea's Nicolas Anelka on Wednesday also looked dubious.