Inter's champions beat all-comers at Uefa club awards

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Internazionale's triumph in last season's Champions League has resulted in the Italian club sweeping the board at the Uefa club awards held in Monaco last night.

At a ceremony before this season's group stage draw, Inter's Julio Cesar was named as goalkeeper of the year, the Brazilian Maicon picked up the defender's award, Wesley Sneijder gained the midfield accolade and Diego Milito was selected as best striker.

Sneijder beat competition from Barcelona's Xavi and Arjen Robben of Bayern Munich, while Milito pipped Lionel Messi and Manchester United's Wayne Rooney to his award.

Inter will hope the success is an omen ahead of tonight's Super Cup encounter with last season's Europa League winners Atletico Madrid in Monaco.

Under the guidance of Jose Mourinho, who has since left for Real Madrid and been replaced by the former Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez, Internazionale last season became the first Italian team to win the treble of Champions League, Serie A and Coppa Italia titles. They then added the Italian Super Cup by beating Roma 3-1 last weekend.