Lehmann escapes disciplinary action

Stuttgart goalkeeper Jens Lehmann and Borussia Dortmund defender Neven Subotic will not face any disciplinary action for their clash last weekend after the German Football Association today dropped its investigation.

The pair jostled for position as Dortmund prepared to take a throw-in and, as referee Dr Helmut Fleischer saw the incident and awarded Stuttgart a free-kick, the German FA (DFB) is unable to take any further action.

Television replays showed Lehmann struck Subotic on the back of the head with his elbow and the Dortmund player retaliated by elbowing Lehmann on his lip.

"By giving a free-kick for Stuttgart, the referee has comprehensively dealt with the situation," read a statement from the DFB.

"This is an obstacle to any further consequences so the investigation has been concluded."

Both players are therefore eligible for their clubs in this weekend's round of Bundesliga matches.

Comments