Dave Jones: Ban Leeds fans after attack on Chris Kirkland

Sheffield Wednesday 1 Leeds United 1


Dave Jones, the Sheffield Wednesday manager, demanded Leeds supporters be banned from away matches after Wednesday goalkeeper Chris Kirkland was attacked by a spectator towards the end of last night's Yorkshire derby at Hillsborough.

Kirkland was pushed in the face after a Leeds fan evaded police and stewards at the Leppings Lane end as Leeds players celebrated Michael Tonge's 76th-minute equalising goal. The attacker then disappeared into the crowd.

Fans among a contingent of more than 5,000 Leeds supporters had earlier thrown missiles in the direction of stewards and Wednesday fans and sent an advertising board on the second tier of the stand crashing on to seats below. They had also subjected Jones to abusive chants based on the false accusations of child abuse made against him in 1999.

Leeds immediately issued an apology for the behaviour of the attacker and promised to co-operate with any inquiry but Jones branded the Leeds fans as "vile animals" and was also highly critical of Leeds manager Neil Warnock for sending his players to applaud their supporters at the final whistle.

"I've had a go at Neil Warnock," Jones said. "I know they are their fans, but you don't go and clap them after they've done that. It's an absolute disgrace, I thought that had gone out of the game. They are vile animals." Warnock rejected the comments by his opposite number.

Tonge's goal, struck from 25 yards, cancelled out a header just before half-time by Jay Bothroyd as Wednesday's winless run stretched to nine matches.

Sheffield Wednesday (4-5-1): Kirkland; Buxton, Llera, Gardner, Jones; Bothroyd, Corry, Barkley, Semedo, Antonio; O'Grady (Madine, 82). Substitutes not used: Bywater (gk), Taylor, Johnson, Rodri, Pecnik, Mayor. Leeds United (4-4-2): Kenny; Byram, Lees, Pearce, Peltier (Varney, 67); White, Austin (Norris, h-t), Brown, Tonge; Diouf, Becchio. Substitutes not used: Ashdown (gk), Drury, Green, Gray, Hall. Referee: E Ilderton (Tyne & Wear)

Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Caption competition
Caption competition
  • Get to the point
Latest stories from i100
Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?

Bleacher Report

Daily Quiz
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

Career Services

Day In a Page

NHS struggling to monitor the safety and efficacy of its services outsourced to private providers

Who's monitoring the outsourced NHS services?

A report finds that private firms are not being properly assessed for their quality of care
Zac Goldsmith: 'I'll trigger a by-election over Heathrow'

Zac Goldsmith: 'I'll trigger a by-election over Heathrow'

The Tory MP said he did not want to stand again unless his party's manifesto ruled out a third runway. But he's doing so. Watch this space
How do Greek voters feel about Syriza's backtracking on its anti-austerity pledge?

How do Greeks feel about Syriza?

Five voters from different backgrounds tell us what they expect from Syriza's charismatic leader Alexis Tsipras
From Iraq to Libya and Syria: The wars that come back to haunt us

The wars that come back to haunt us

David Cameron should not escape blame for his role in conflicts that are still raging, argues Patrick Cockburn
Sam Baker and Lauren Laverne: Too busy to surf? Head to The Pool

Too busy to surf? Head to The Pool

A new website is trying to declutter the internet to help busy women. Holly Williams meets the founders
Heston Blumenthal to cook up a spice odyssey for British astronaut manning the International Space Station

UK's Major Tum to blast off on a spice odyssey

Nothing but the best for British astronaut as chef Heston Blumenthal cooks up his rations
John Harrison's 'longitude' clock sets new record - 300 years on

‘Longitude’ clock sets new record - 300 years on

Greenwich horologists celebrate as it keeps to within a second of real time over a 100-day test
Fears in the US of being outgunned in the vital propaganda wars by Russia, China - and even Isis - have prompted a rethink on overseas broadcasters

Let the propaganda wars begin - again

'Accurate, objective, comprehensive': that was Voice of America's creed, but now its masters want it to promote US policy, reports Rupert Cornwell
Why Japan's incredible long-distance runners will never win the London Marathon

Japan's incredible long-distance runners

Every year, Japanese long-distance runners post some of the world's fastest times – yet, come next weekend, not a single elite competitor from the country will be at the London Marathon
Why does Tom Drury remain the greatest writer you've never heard of?

Tom Drury: The quiet American

His debut was considered one of the finest novels of the past 50 years, and he is every bit the equal of his contemporaries, Jonathan Franzen, Dave Eggers and David Foster Wallace
You should judge a person by how they peel a potato

You should judge a person by how they peel a potato

Dave Hax's domestic tips are reminiscent of George Orwell's tea routine. The world might need revolution, but we like to sweat the small stuff, says DJ Taylor
Beige is back: The drab car colours of the 1970s are proving popular again

Beige to the future

Flares and flounce are back on catwalks but a revival in ’70s car paintjobs was a stack-heeled step too far – until now
Bill Granger recipes: Our chef's dishes highlight the delicate essence of fresh cheeses

Bill Granger cooks with fresh cheeses

More delicate on the palate, milder, fresh cheeses can also be kinder to the waistline
Aston Villa vs Liverpool: 'This FA Cup run has been wonderful,' says veteran Shay Given

Shay Given: 'This FA Cup run has been wonderful'

The Villa keeper has been overlooked for a long time and has unhappy memories of the national stadium – but he is savouring his chance to play at Wembley
Timeless drama of Championship race in league of its own - Michael Calvin

Michael Calvin's Last Word

Timeless drama of Championship race in league of its own