Swansea crowned champions despite loss to Yeovil

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Swansea were crowned League One champions on Saturday despite suffering a second successive home defeat as Yeovil claimed a 2-1 win to end their relegation fears.

Yeovil went ahead in the 23rd minute when captain Terry Skiverton headed into the net, a goal which was followed by Aidan Downes' superb long-range effort in the 60th minute to double Yeovil's advantage. Andy Robinson then fired home in the 78th minute as Swansea pulled one back but the Welsh side then had Darren Pratley sent off for a foul on Lloyd Owusu.

Roberto Martinez's side go up as league winners after 10-man Carlisle slipped to a 2-1 defeat to Southend at Brunton Park.

Mark McCammon cancelled out Wayne Gray's opening goal as Doncaster drew 1-1 at Leyton Orient to keep them in the hunt for a promotion berth.

Nottingham Forest kept their hopes of an automatic place alive with a 1-0 win over Luton. Leeds remain on course for the play-offs as they recorded a 2-0 away win over Millwall.