Argentina v Iran team news: Lionel Messi, Sergio Aguero, Gonzalo Higuain and Angel Di Maria all start for Argentina in ultra-attacking line-up

Iran are hoping to build on their 0-0 draw with Nigeria in their opening match

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Argentina fielded a strong line-up to face second-placed Iran in Group F with Lionel Messi joined in the starting XI alongside Sergio Aguero, Gonzalo Higuain and Angel Di Maria.

Follow Argentina v Iran live here

Messi scored the winning goal to get Argentina’s World Cup campaign off to a shaky start via a 2-1 victory over Bosnia-Herzegovina. Manchester City’s Pablo Zabaleta starts at right-back to partner Federico Fernandez, Ezeqiuel Garay and Marcos Rojo in defence.

Iran began their campaign with one of the more duller matches we’ve seen in Brazil, as they played out a goalless draw with Group F rivals Nigeria, who take on Bosnia-Herzegovina later today.



Argentina: Romero, Zabaleta, Garay, Federico Fernandez, Rojo, Gago, Mascherano, Di Maria, Aguero, Messi, Higuain.

Subs: Orion, Campagnaro, Biglia, Perez, Maxi Rodriguez, Augusto Fernandez, Demichelis, Palacio, Alvarez, Lavezzi, Basanta, Andujar.

Iran: Alireza Haghighi, Montazeri, Hosseini, Sadeghi, Pouladi, Shojaei, Teymourian, Nekounam, Hajsafi, Dejagah, Ghoochannejhad.

Subs: Ahmadi, Heydari, Reza Haghighi, Jahanbakhsh, Ansarifard, Hadadifar, Mahini, Alnameh, Rahmani, Beikzadeh, Beitashour, Davari.

Referee: Milorad Mazic (Serbia)