Colombia vs Ivory Coast team news: Didier Drogba left on the bench once again as Wilfried Bony gets the nod to lead Ivory Coast attack

Colombia name and unchanged line-up meaning Jackson martinez and Fredy Guarin are among the substitutes

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Sabri Lamouchi has once again not found space in his Ivory Coast starting line-up for talismanic striker Didier Drogba after electing to stick with Swansea’s Wilfried Bony for their second Group C match against Colombia.

Follow Colombia v Ivory Coast LIVE

Drogba’s introduction during the opening 2-1 victory against Japan changed the game as the Elephants scored twice in two minutes to overturn the scores and get Lamouchi’s side off to a winning start. However, he has elected to stick with Bony as his lone striker, and he’ll be supported by former Arsenal winger Gervinho and Max Gradel, previously of Leeds.

Colombia meanwhile have named an unchanged line-up, meaning that all three goalscorers in the 3-0 win over Greece start in the shape of Pablo Armero, Teofilo Gitierrez and James Rodriguez.

Porto striker Jackson Martinez will have to make do with a spot among the substitutes once again, where he is joined by reported Manchester United target Fredy Guarin, who has been heavily linked this morning with a move to Old Trafford after the World Cup.

The match will see England's Howard Webb take charge of his first game at this year's tournament, which represents his first World Cup match since the 2010 final between Spain and Netherlands.



Colombia: David Ospina; Mario Yepes, Cristian Zapata, Pablo Armero; Juan Zuniga, Abel Aguilar, James Rodriguez, Carlos Sanchez, Juan Cuadrado, Victor Ibarbo; Teofilo Gutierrez.

Substitutes: Santiago Arias, Carlos Carbonero, Camilo Vargas, Fredy Guarin, Alexander Mejia, Eder Balanta, Carlos Bacca, Adrian Ramos, Juan Quintero, Jackson Martinez, Faryd Mondragon, Carlos Valdes.

Ivory Coast: Boubacar Barry; Serge Aurier, Souleyman Bamba, Arthur Boka, Didier Zokora; Cheick Tiote, Yaya Toure, Serey Die, Max Gradel; Gervinho, Wilfried Bony.

Substitutes: Ousmane Diarrassouba, Kolo Toure, Mathis Bolly, Daniel Akpa Akpro, Salomon Kalou, Didier Drogba, Didier Ya Konan, Ismael Diomande, Sylvain Gbohouo, Constant Djakpa, Giovanni Sio, Sayouba Mande.

Referee: Howard Webb (England).