Copa America Final 2015 - Chile vs Argentina preview: When is it and where can I watch it?

A look ahead to the tournament’s eagerly anticipated final

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Having never won the tournament before while hosting the event seven times, Jorge Sampaoli’s Chile will feel that surely now is the time to be crowned Copa America champions.

Despite their past glories in the tournament, Argentina will be equally convinced that a 15 title in South America’s most prestigious footballing event is long overdue; it’s been 22 years since the nation has won a major international tournament.

The two teams have faced a series of challenges on the road to the final but with their 6-1 demolition of Paraguay in the semi-final, Argentina look set to enter the final in higher spirits. Chile head into the final on the back of a closely fought 2-1 victory against Peru in a game which saw them fail to reach their best.

Nonetheless, despite Argentina’s explosion against Paraguay, Chile have proved equally threatening on the offensive front, scoring an impressive ten goals in their first three games.

It would seem Chile have had an easier ride compared with Argentina. Placed in a group that included Ecuador and Mexico, the hosts were expected to qualify with ease. Argentina faced a far harder task against the likes of Paraguay and the tournament’s defending champions, Uruguay.

As for the players, Sampaoli has hinted that Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez in particular needs to recapture his top form for Chile to claim victory.

"If he is feeling good, he's the most decisive player in this team," he said. "We must recover him well because he's vital to us."

In contrast, Lionel Messi proved his class in the semi-final providing three assists while Angel Di Maria, Gonzalo Higuain and Sergio Aguero all scored. With the likes of Carlos Tevez on the bench, Argentina’s front three will prove a real cause for concern.

Chile can only hope that their home advantage will inspire them to victory and their first Copa America title.

KICK-OFF: Saturday, 9pm (BST)


Chile 1 (Gutierrez) Argentina 2 (Messi, Higuain), WC Qualification South America, October 2012

Argentina (Higuain 3, Messi) Chile 1 (Fernadenz), WC Qualification South America, October 2011

Chile 1 (Orellana) Argentina 0, WC Qualification South America, October 2008


Chile have beaten Argentina just once in the two countries’ last 14 meetings – a run stretching back to 1959.

Neither side has lost a competitive game since the World Cup.

Argentina have not won the Copa America since 1993.

Eduardo Vargas currently stands to win the Golden Boot award with four goals to his name.


Chile to win: 14/5

Argentina to win: 11/10

Draw: 5/2

TV: Live on Premier Sports, coverage from 8.30pm