England v Denmark: Toronto-bound Jermain Defoe named in Roy Hodgson's squad for next week's friendly

Southampton full-back Luke Shaw is the only uncapped member of the squad

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Jermain Defoe, who has played only 36 minutes of Premier League football this calendar year, and officially joins Canadian side Toronto FC tomorrow, has been named as a surprise choice in Roy Hodgson's 30-man England squad for the friendly against Denmark next Wednesday.

Defoe, who is currently sidelined with a hamstring injury, will say goodbye to Tottenham supporters at White Hart Lane tonight during their Europa League last-32 second-leg match against Dnipro before he joins the Major League Soccer club.

The Southampton left-back, Luke Shaw, has been called up to the England senior team for the first time, and is the only uncapped player in Hodgson's squad. It will be England's last friendly before the manager picks his provisional World Cup squad on 13 May.

There is disappointment, however, for two players in fine form this season - Sunderland's Adam Johnson and Gareth Barry, on loan at Everton from Manchester City.

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City), John Ruddy (Norwich City).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Steven Caulker (Cardiff City), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United), Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur).                          

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Andros Townsend (Tottenham Hotspur), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Jay Rodriguez (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United).