England World Cup announcement: Michael Carrick, Tom Cleverley and Adam Johnson join Ashley Cole in being left out of Roy Hodgson's 23-man squad

United pair have endured a woeful season

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Roy Hodgson had no place for the Manchester United duo Tom Cleverley and Michael Carrick in his 23-man England squad for the World Cup, which was announced today.

The pair, who have endured a woeful season for the Premier League champions United, will not go to the World Cup unless there is an injury to any of the 23-man squad.

Rickie Lambert is the fourth striker in Hodgson's squad, leaving Andy Carroll and Jermain Defoe, now on Toronto's books, on the standby list.

Also on the list of reserves are: John Ruddy, Jon Flanagan, John Stones and Jermain Defoe.

Adam Johnson, who despite enjoying his most prolific season at Sunderland, scoring eight goals, has been left out altogether.


In addition, Theo Walcott, Kyle Townsend, Jay Rodriguez and Aaron Lennon will all miss the finals in Brazil because of injury.

Read more: Barkley, Wilshere, Lampard in the squad
Hodgson says Cole axe was 'hardest decision'
England squad announcement - as it happened



J Hart (Manchester City), B Foster (West Brom), F Forster (Celtic)


G Johnson (Liverpool), P Jagielka (Everton), G Cahill (Chelsea), C Smalling (Manchester United), P Jones (Manchester United), L Baines (Everton), L Shaw (Southampton)


S Gerrard (Liverpool, capt), F Lampard (Chelsea), J Henderson (Liverpool), J
Milner (Manchester City), J Wilshere (Arsenal), R Barkley (Everton), A Lallana
(Southampton), R Sterling (Liverpool), A Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal)


W Rooney  (Manchester United), D Sturridge (Liverpool), D Welbeck (Manchester United), R Lambert (Southampton).


Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Ruddy (Norwich City), John Stones (Everton)