England World Cup squad announcement: 'Of course we can win the World Cup,' claims Roy Hodgson after naming squad

Hodgson picked a youthful squad for the finals in Brazil

Click to follow
The Independent Football

A buoyant Roy Hodgson has claimed that England can win the World Cup this summer, after naming his squad for Brazil.

The manager picked a youthful squad, with Southampton's 18-year-old left-back Luke Shaw in place of Ashley Cole, and also Everton's 20-year-old midfielder Ross Barkley making his team. Liverpool's impressive 19 year old, Raheem Sterling, is also in the squad.

"Yes of course we can win the World Cup," the manager stated during his press briefing today. "Why would we be going otherwise? We are right to have some degree of optimism."

Read more: Hodgson attempts to ease pressure on Barkley
Hodgson gives youth a chance

On the young players, Hodgson added: "Young players have imposed themselves and their ability on me. If I'd picked squad in October, it might have been different."



J Hart (Manchester City), B Foster (West Brom), F Forster (Celtic)


G Johnson (Liverpool), P Jagielka (Everton), G Cahill (Chelsea), C Smalling (Manchester United), P Jones (Manchester United), L Baines (Everton), L Shaw (Southampton)



S Gerrard (Liverpool, capt), F Lampard (Chelsea), J Henderson (Liverpool), J
Milner (Manchester City), J Wilshere (Arsenal), R Barkley (Everton), A Lallana
(Southampton), R Sterling (Liverpool), A Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal)

Read more: Stones could still replace Jones if he fails to recover
Carrick tweets about World Cup heartbreak


W Rooney  (Manchester United), D Sturridge (Liverpool), D Welbeck (Manchester United), R Lambert (Southampton).


Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Ruddy (Norwich City), John Stones (Everton)