European Under-21 Championships: What time does it start, who's in the England squad, fixtures and when is it on TV?

Everything you need to know about the tournament in Czech Republic

Click to follow

England Under-21s will soon be travelling to the Czech Republic for the 20th staging of the Under-21 European Championship.

England breezed through the qualifiers, finishing top of their group, winning nine out of 10 matches with an impressive goal difference of 29, whilst West Bromwich Albion striker Saido Berahino was the leading goal scorer with 10.

The competition runs from the 17 to 30 June and England are in Group B with Italy, Portugal and Sweden. Their first game is against Portugal on 18 June at the Městský Fotbalový Stadion, Uherske Hradiste.

The winner and runner up of Group B will face either Serbia, Germany, Denmark or Czech Republic of Group A in the semi-finals.

Gareth Southgate's side have won 13 of their last 14 matches and with the inclusion of Harry Kane, England will be hoping to improve upon the 2013 European Championship. Under Stuart Pearce they failed to qualify past the group stage in Israel.

In preparation, England will play against Belarus in a friendly on 11 June at Oakwell Stadium, Barnsley, live on BT Sport 1 at 7.45pm.

Saido Berahino scored 10 goals in qualifying

England’s Group Fixtures

England U21 v Portugal U21 - Thursday, 18 June, 7.45pm, BT Sport 1, Městský Fotbalový Stadion, Uherske Hradiste.

Sweden U21 v England U21 - Sunday, 21 June, 5pm, BT Sport 1, Andrův stadion, Olomouc

England U21 v Italy U21 - Wednesday, 24 June, 7.45pm, BT Sport 1, Andrův stadion, Olomouc


Winner of Group B v Runner-up of Group A, Andrův stadion, Olomouc, 27 June, 5pm, BT Sport 1

Winner of Group A v Runner-up of Group B, Generali Arena, Prague, 27 June, 8pm, BT Sport 1


Winner of Semi-final 1 v Winner of Semi-final 2, Eden Arena, Prague, 30 June, 7.45pm, BT Sport 1


Gareth Southgate's England Squad


Marcus Bettinelli (Fulham), Jonathan Bond (Watford), Jack Butland (Stoke City)


Calum Chambers (Arsenal), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Luke Garbutt (Everton), Ben Gibson (Middlesbrough), Carl Jenkinson (Arsenal, loan to West Ham United), Michael Keane (Burnley), Liam Moore (Leicester City), John Stones (Everton), Matt Targett (Southampton)


Tom Carroll (Tottenham Hotspur, loan to Swansea City), Nathaniel Chalobah (Chelsea), Will Hughes (Derby County), Jake Forster-Caskey (Brighton & Hove Albion), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea), Alex Pritchard (Tottenham Hotspur, loan to Brentford), Nathan Redmond (Norwich City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton)


Benik Afobe (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Patrick Bamford (Chelsea, loan to Middlesbrough), Saido Berahino (West Bromwich Albion), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Danny Ings (Burnley), Cauley Woodrow (Fulham)