We are currently trialling our new-look independent.co.uk website - please send any feedback to beta@independent.co.uk


Jordan 0 Uruguay 5: Luis Suarez incensed after being adjudged to have dived in attempt to win penalty in World Cup play-off

Was the Liverpool striker fouled? Decide for yourself by watching the video below

Two time World Cup winners Uruguay all but booked a place at next year's World Cup with a thumping 5-0 win away to outsiders Jordan in the first leg of their play-off on Wednesday - however the match was overshadowed by Luis Suarez being adjudged to have dived to win a penalty.

Maximiliano Pereira and Cristian Stuani scored first half goals for the visitors to stifle any chance of an upset at the Amman International Stadium between the teams that finished fifth in South American and Asian qualifying.

Jordan improved after the break but striker Ahmad Ibrahim missed a great chance to pull one back in the 52nd minute as Uruguay rode out comfortable winners with Nicolas Lodeiro, Cristian Rodriguez and Edinson Cavani adding further goals.

During the first half, Suarez tumbled inside the box. The referee waved away the claims of the Liverpool striker despite there appearing to be contact. Suarez was incensed with the failure to award a spot-kick with the game at 1-0, but ultimately it would have made little difference to the outcome.

The second leg takes place in Montevideo next Wednesday with the winners claiming a place at the 2014 finals in Brazil.

Did Suarez dive or was he fouled? Watch the incident below...