Luis Suarez bite video: Did Uruguayan striker bite Italy defender Giorgio Chiellini? Decide for yourself...

Uruguay's 1-0 victory over Italy has been marred by yet another controversial moment involving Suarez

Uruguay could be without their most influential player for the rest of the World Cup after Luis Suarez was accused of biting Italy defender Giorgio Chiellini, but did he actually sink his teeth in to Chiellini's shoulder?

Follow live reaction to Suarez's alleged bite

The incident happened during Uruguay's 1-0 victory that saw them emerge from Group D at the Italians' expense. With the pair jostling for position in the penalty area as a Uruguayan free-kick was about to be delivered, Suarez trusted his head towards Chiellini with what appeared to be an intentional headbutt.

The Italian aimed a swinging arm towards Suarez as a result, but immediately fell to the floor in agony grasping his left shoulder. Suarez quickly followed suit, but sparked controversy when it was shown that he was holding his teeth.

Chiellini quickly confronted the striker before showing referee Marco Rodriguez the marks left on his shoulder. But did Suarez actually bite him?

See the incident for yourselves below...

 

s--2.jpg
The two come close before the incident (via Vine)

s-1.jpg
Suarez's head moves towards Chiellini's shoulder (via Vine)

s-3.jpg
There is contact between the players (via Vine)

Suarez-bite.jpg
Suarez appeared to suggest his teeth had made contact with Chiellini by holding them in pain

Suarez-teeth.jpg
Suarez holds his teeth after colliding with Chiellini

Chiellini-bite.jpg
Chiellini shows the marks left on shoulder

Ramires-Chiellini.jpg
Gaston Ramires attempt to cover up the mark that Chiellini is trying to show referee Marco Rodriguez (Getty)

Suarez does of course have previous when it comes to biting, having been banned twice before for similar acts. During his time with Ajax, Suarez was given a seven-match ban for biting PSV Eindhoven’s Otman Bakkal. He was then handed a 10-match ban in 2013 for biting Chelsea’s Branislav Ivanovic, in which he was allowed to stay on the pitch and score the equalising goal soon after.

 

Fifa can take retrospective action against Suarez as the referee did not see a reason to caution the striker, which could rule him out of the second round and the rest of the World Cup should he be found guilty.

Comments