Sergio Batista names first squad as permanent Argentina boss

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Lucas Biglia was the only new face as Sergio Batista named his first squad as the permanent Argentina coach, for the upcoming friendly against Brazil.

The 24-year-old Anderlecht midfielder is given his first chance at senior level having won the Under-20 World Cup in Holland in 2005.

Batista, who was today given the job he had been doing temporarily on a permanent basis, selected Manchester City's Carlos Tevez and Pablo Zabaleta as the only Premier League players for the match in Qatar, while Valencia midfielder Ever Banega returns to the side.

This is Argentina's fourth friendly with Batista at the helm, following two wins and one defeat.

Argentina squad: Sergio Romero (AZ Alkmaar), Mariano Andujar (Catania); Gabriel Milito (Barcelona), Walter Samuel (Inter Milan), Javier Zanetti (Inter Milan), Nicolas Burdisso (Roma), Martin Demichelis (Bayern Munich), Nicolas Pareja (Spartak Moscow), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Gabriel Heinze (Marseille); Mario Bolatti (Fiorentina), Lucas Biglia (Anderlecht), Ever Banega (Valencia), Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Javier Pastore (Palermo), Andres D'Alessandro (Internacional), Jose Sosa (Napoli), Angel Di Maria (Real Madrid); Gonzalo Higuain (Real Madrid), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Sergio Aguero (Atletico Madrid), Diego Milito (Inter Milan), Ezequiel Lavezzi (Napoli), Carlos Tevez (Manchester City), Nicolas Gaitan (Benfica).