United States vs Germany team news: Bastian Schweinsteiger and Lukas Podolski return for Germans as Clint Dempsey lead the USA attack

Jurgen Klinsmann makes two changes to the American side that drew 2-2 with Portugal

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Germany manager Joachim Low made two changes to the side that drew 2-2 with Ghana as he recalled Bastian Schweinsteiger and included Lukas Podolski in the starting line-up to face the Unites States.

Follow USA v Germany live here

Both teams will qualify if the match ends in a draw, although a loser will leave themselves exposed to the winner of the other match in Group G with Portugal facing Ghana simultaneously. A draw in that match would send both Germany and the United States through regardless of the result.

Schweinsteiger returns to his usual central midfield role in place of Real Madrid’s Sami Khedira, while Podolski replaces Mario Gotze on the left to provide support along with Mesut Ozil for the in-form forward Thomas Muller.

A German World Cup legend will grace the United States dug-out as Jurgen Klinsmann plots the downfall of the team he used to play for, and he also makes two changes from the 2-2 draw with Portugal.

Omar Gonzalez comes in to the defence to replace Geoff Cameron, while Brad Davis is preferred on the right of midfield instead of Alejandro Bedoya, with Clint Dempsey tasked with taking the game to the German defence.



United States: Tim Howard; Omar Gonzalez, Fabian Johnson, Matt Besler, DaMarcus Beasley; Kyle Beckerman, Michael Bradley, Jermaine Jones, Graham Zusi, Brad Davis; Clint Dempsey

Substitutes: DeAndre Yedlin, John Brooks, Aron Johannsson, Mix Diskerud, Alejandro Bedoya, Brad Guzan, Julian Green, Jozy Altidore, Chris Wondolowski, Geoff Cameron, Timmy Chandler, Nick Rimando

Germany: Manuel Neuer; Jerome Boateng, Mats Hummels, Per Mertesacker, Benedikt Hoewedes; Bastian Schweinsteiger, Philip Lahm; Toni Kroos, Mesut Ozil, Lukas Podolski; Thomas Mueller

Substitutes: Kevin Grosskreutz, Matthias Ginter, Sami Khedira, Andre Schuerrle, Miroslav Klose, Ron-Robert Zieler, Julian Draxler, Erik Durm, Mario Goetze, Shkodran Mustafi, Shkodran Mustafi, Christoph Kramer

Referee: Ravshan Irmatov (Uzbekistan)