World Cup 2018 draw: When is it, which pot are England in and who can face who?

Everything you need to know about Saturday's qualification group draw

Click to follow

The road to the Russian World Cup in 2018 begins on Saturday.

The draw for the tournament's qualification campaign takes place in St Petersburg on July 25. The BBC will show live coverage from 4pm on the Red Button, it will also appear on Sky Sports News. The actual draw is expected to begin at 5pm.

The 52 European countries will be split into seven groups of six teams and two groups of five teams.

England, along with France, Germany, Italy, Spain and Holland, will be in a group of six teams at the request of Uefa in order to maximise television income.

Hosts Russia will qualify automatically.

The winners of each group will qualify for Russia 2018, while the eight best group runners-up will take part in a play-off in November 2017.


Pot 1: Germany, Belgium, Holland, Portugal, Romania, England, Wales, Spain, Croatia

Pot 2: Slovakia, Austria, Italy, Switzerland, Czech Republic, France, Iceland, Denmark, Bosnia-Herzegovina

Pot 3: Ukraine, Scotland, Poland, Hungary, Sweden, Albania, Northern Ireland, Serbia, Greece

Pot 4: Turkey, Slovenia, Israel, Republic of Ireland, Norway, Bulgaria, Faroe Islands, Montenegro, Estonia

Pot 5: Cyprus, Latvia, Armenia, Finland, Belarus, Macedonia, Azerbaijan, Lithuania, Moldova

Pot 6: Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Georgia, Malta, San Marino, Andorra



Dream scenario...

England, Iceland, Albania, Faroe Islands, Moldova, Andorra

Nightmare scenario...

England, Italy, Sweden, Turkey, Finland, Kazakhstan


Dream scenario...

Wales, Bosnia & Hercegovina, Albania, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Nightmare scenario...

Wales, France, Ukraine, Turkey, Cyprus, Georgia


Dream scenario...

Scotland, Wales, Iceland, Estonia, Lithuania

Nightmare scenario...

Scotland, Germany, Italy, Turkey, Macedonia, Kazakhstan


Dream scenario...

Northern Ireland, Romania, Iceland, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Nightmare scenario...

Northern Ireland, Spain, France, Republic of Ireland, Belarus, Malta