Fifa Ballon d'Or: Jupp Heynckes beats Sir Alex Ferguson to coach of the year award following Bayern Munich success

Heynckes, like Ferguson, retired at the end of last season

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Jupp Heynckes was named coach of the year by Fifa today in recognition of him leading Bayern Munich to an unprecedented treble last season.

He beat Borussia Dortmund manager Juergen Klopp and former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson to the award.

Heynckes was fully expected to take the award following Bayern Munich's incredible season in which they won the Bundesliga, German Cup and Champions League titles. He stepped down, as planned, in May, bringing an end to a 48-year career.

It appeared Ferguson was so convinced he would be beaten to the award that the former Manchester United manager did not attend Fifa's awards ceremony. He is currently in Barbados on holiday.

Heynckes began as a player with Borussia Moenchengladbach in 1965 and spent his entire career there, apart from a three-season spell at Hanover 96.

As a coach he led Moenchengladbach, Athletic Bilbao, Eintracht Frankfurt, Tenerife, Real Madrid, Benfica and Bayer Leverkusen, as well as three stints with Bayern.

Related articles...
Messi wears garish red suit
Cristiano Ronaldo fights back tears after winning the Fifa Ballon d'Or award
No Premier League players in FIFPro World XI team of the year
Ibrahimovic wins 2013 goal of the year (for goal against England in 2012)
Heynckes beats Sir Alex Ferguson to coach of the year award
Fifa Ballon d'Or: Ronaldo in numbers
Ronaldo deserved to win Ballon d'Or, say readers of The Independent
Ronaldo says row with Blatter is 'no longer an issue'