Fifa overlooks English players for Ballon d'Or

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Three premier League players have been included on the 23-man shortlist for the Fifa Ballon d'Or, although no English players were included.

Chelsea's Didier Drogba and Arsenal captain Cesc Fabregas make the shortlist, along with Sunderland's Asamoah Gyan.

World Cup winners Spain boast seven players, including Barcelona's Andres Iniesta, who scored his country's winner in the final. A Spaniard last won the prize in 1960 when Luis Suarez triumphed.

Kelly Smith offers a lonely English presence for the women's World Player of the Year, while her national coach, Hope Powell, is shortlisted in her category. The winners will be announced in January.