Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Zlatan Ibrahimovic make Uefa Team of the Year... but only one Premier League star makes the final XI

Angel Di Maria the only Premier League player - and he spent last season helping Real Madrid win the Champions League and Copa del Rey

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Only one Premier League player has been voted into the Uefa Team of the Year - and Angel Di Maria was voted into the team for his exploits at Real Madrid, not Manchester United.

The team, voted for by 8.6million fans on the Uefa website, doesn't feature any British players either and is, unsurprisingly, dominated by players from Champions League winners Real Madrid and World Cup winners Germany.

Di Maria, the sole representative from the Premier League, was man of the match in the Champions League final before completing a British record £59.4m move to Old Trafford in the summer.

Former Real Madrid team-mates Cristiano Ronaldo and Sergio Ramos are in the side, as is Argentina team-mate Lionel Messi, the sole representative from a declining Barcelona.

Bayern Munich are the best represented team in all-star XI, with four current players and Toni Kroos, who joined Real Madrid in the summer. There are three Germans in the team, Kroos, captain Philipp Lahm and goalkeeper Manuel Neuer, while their team-mates left-back David Alaba, an Austrian, and Dutch star Arjen Robben also fit into the attacking team.

Despite the heroics of Diego Simeone's Atletico Madrid, who won La Liga for the first time in 18 years and reached the final of the Champions League, Diego Godin is the only representative of the side.

Paris Saint-Germain striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic is the only player who did not play in either La Liga or the Bundesliga at some point this year to make the team.

Along with the Premier League, Serie A fails to have any representatives in the team.