PFA Team of the Year: Liverpool trio Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge and Steven Gerrard included

Chelsea also have three players in the side

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Liverpool strikers Luis Suarez and Daniel Sturridge were last night named in the Professional Footballers’ Association’s Premier League team of the year.

Suarez, the Premier League’s leading scorer, and Sturridge were joined by Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard in the league select XI.

The announcements at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel came hours after Liverpool lost 2-0 to Chelsea in the Premier League.

Chelsea’s Petr Cech, Gary Cahill and Eden Hazard made the PFA’s Premier League team, along with City’s Vincent Kompany and Yaya Touré, plus Southampton left-back Luke Shaw and midfielder club-mate Adam Lallana. Everton right-back Seamus Coleman was also included in the team.

While many of the players involved were sent messages of congratulations by their clubs on Twitter, the Football Association noted the inclusion of five players who could be World Cup-bound with England this summer, stating: “Five England players voted by professionals into PFA team of the year: Gary Cahill LukeShaw Steven Gerrard, Adam Lallana Daniel Sturridge.”

In Scotland, Kris Commons was named PFA Scotland player of the year. The Celtic attacking midfielder has scored 28 goals across all competitions for the Scottish Premiership champions this season. Commons finished ahead of his Celtic team-mates Fraser Forster and Virgil van Dijk as well as Kilmarnock striker Kris Boyd.

PFA Premier League team of the year: Cech (Chelsea), Shaw (Southampton), Kompany (Man City), Cahill (Chelsea), Coleman (Everton), Hazard (Chelsea), Y  Touré (Man City), Gerrard (Liverpool), Lallana (Southampton), Suarez (Liverpool), Sturridge (Liverpool).