PFA announce Player of the Year nominees

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Tottenham’s Gareth Bale and Arsenal’s Samir Nasri have both officially been nominated for the Professional Footballer’s Association Player and Young Player of the Year awards.

In a year where no one player has stood out the competition for both awards will be fierce and PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor believes the lists are reflective of an exciting season.

Click here or click the image for our lowdown on the nominees.

He said: “It is certainly very competitive. There has been no outstanding favourite so it will be very interesting to see who people think are favourites.

“This year there are some very good contenders and it is nice to see some homegrown players in there as well. That is encouraging”.

The North London duo will face competition from Bale’s Tottenham team mate Rafael Van der Vaart, Manchester City’s Carlos Tevez, Manchester United’s Nemanja Vidic, West Ham’s Scott Parker and Blackpool talisman Charlie Adam.

While England and Manchester City goalkeeper Joe Hart, Arsenal starlet Jack Wilshere, Everton's Seamus Coleman and Manchester United pair Nani and Javier Hernandez complete the young player of the year shortlist.

Bale and Nasri could join former Manchester United midfielder Cristiano Ronaldo (2006/07) and Andy Gray (1976/77) as the only players to win both awards in the same year.

Vidic meanwhile will be looking to make it five in a row for Manchester United who have provided the last four winners of the Player of the Year award – Ronaldo (06/07 and 07/08), Ryan Giggs (08/09) and Wayne Rooney 12 months ago.

However, in a recent poll for The Independent Adam was the overwhelming fans favourite with 48 per cent of the vote followed by Bale on 26 per cent and Nasri on 12 per cent.

The winners, along with the Team of the Year, will be announced at a gala dinner on Sunday, April 17.


Charlie Adam (Blackpool)

Gareth Bale (Tottenham)

Samir Nasri (Arsenal)

Scott Parker (West Ham)

Carlos Tevez (Manchester City)

Rafael Van der Vaart (Tottenham)

Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)


Jack Wilshere (Arsenal)

Joe Hart (Manchester City)

Samir Nasri (Arsenal)

Seamus Coleman (Everton)

Gareth Bale (Tottenham)

Nani (Manchester United)

Javier Hernandez (Manchester United)