PFA player of the year nominees announced

Click to follow
The Independent Football

The Professional Footballers' Association have unveiled the four names that will battle it out to be named this season's player of the year.

Wayne Rooney is the overwhelming favourite to scoop the prize and complete a four-timer for Manchester United as Ryan Giggs won it last year after back-to-back victories for Cristiano Ronaldo.

But three other worthy contenders have a chance as well.

Here, Press Association Sport lists the four men named, with a word of praise from PFA chief executive Gordon Taylor.


"Drogba's strength is different class. I have seen so many games when he has been left out of the starting line-up for whatever reason and then come on, his presence alone makes a massive difference."


"He is crucial to Arsenal and typifies the quality of their play. He is a real engine-room player. You sit back and marvel at his skills. It would be a sad day if our game lost him."

WAYNE ROONEY (Manchester United)

"He is like one of those blocks you use to demolish buildings. Sometimes you can't believe how good he is. From an English point of view it is good that we have a real contender, not just to be the best player in this country but the whole world."

CARLOS TEVEZ (Manchester City)

"He is such an energy-packed player. His work-rate and skill are quite phenomenal. He is red-hot at the moment and his goals look like they could propel Manchester City into qualification for the Champions League."