Arsenal vs Newcastle team news: Mathieu Debuchy starts at centre-back but no place for Lukas Podolski

Olivier Giroud and Danny Welbeck start in attack despite Podolski's two goals in the Champions League midweek

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Arsenal have named Mathieu Debuchy alongside Per Mertesacker at centre-back in the absence of Laurent Koscielny and Calum Chambers for the visit of Newcastle to the Emirates Stadium.

Follow Arsenal v Newcastle live here

Koscielny picked up a calf strain midweek and with Chambers suspended following his red card in last week’s 3-2 defeat to Stoke, Hector Bellerin comes in on the right having played in the midweek 4-1 victory over Galatasaray at left-back.

In attack, Olivier Giroud, Danny Welbeck and Alexis Sanchez all start for just the second time, with Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain continuing his record of playing in every game for the Gunners so far this season.

Francis Coquelin is included on the bench having been recalled from a loan spell at Charlton on Friday, while Lukas Podolski has to make do with a place among the substitutes despite scoring twice in Turkey.


Newcastle start with third-choice goalkeeper Jak Alnwick – younger brother of Tottenham’s Ben Alnwick – deputising for the absent Tim Krul and Rob Elliot having appeared from the bench to make his competitive debut in last week’s shock 2-0 win over Chelsea.

Podolski scored twice against Galatasaray

Mike Williamson comes into a back four that is missing Steven Taylor after he was sent-off last week, while Yoan Gouffran starts in midfield in place of the suspended Moussa Sissoko. Papiss Cisse returns to the starting line-up having scored both goals against the Blues, with Remy Cabella dropping to the bench.


Arsenal: Szczesny, Bellerin, Debuchy, Mertesacker, Gibbs, Flamini, Cazorla, Oxlade-Chamberlain, Alexis, Welbeck, Giroud

Subs: Martinez, Ajayi, Coquelin, Maitland-Niles, Campbell, Podolski, Sanogo

Newcastle: Alnwick; Janmaat, Williamson, Coloccini (c), Dummett; Tiote, Colback; Gouffran, Perez, Ameobi; Cisse

Subs: Woodman, Haidara, Anita, Vuckic, Cabella, Armstrong, Riviere