Ballack makes Evra admission

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Michael Ballack admits he "blocked" Patrice Evra in the build-up to Chelsea's controversial second goal during their Community Shield victory over Manchester United at Wembley.

The Germany captain was also "happy" referee Chris Foy did not blow for a foul as Chelsea went on to score through Frank Lampard while Evra lay hurt on the ground.

Chelsea eventually won the game 4-1 on penalties after it finished 2-2 in normal time, but United boss Sir Alex Ferguson was adamant Foy should have sent off the Chelsea substitute for the use of an elbow.

Ballack declared: "I have to be happy that the referee didn't blow because maybe I blocked him a little bit.

"If the referee gives a foul it would have been okay as well, but he decided not to. It was a bit unlucky after that because they conceded the goal.

"I kept on playing but then I didn't have the ball so I couldn't see how injured he was."

Ferguson also claimed Foy should have stopped play when Evra went down as the referee had done when Ballack was injured moments earlier, but Lampard said Chelsea had no case to answer.

Lampard's strike put Chelsea 2-1 ahead in the 70th minute and when asked if he felt he should have kicked the ball out rather than trying to score, the England midfielder said: "I don't think any player would, you're entitled to shoot.

"That's what United did in the first half, but the referee stopped them and when Ballack went down in the second half they were complaining that they couldn't carry on."

Nani, who later went off with a dislocated shoulder, gave United a first-half lead but Ricardo Carvalho levelled in the 52nd minute.

Lampard's controversial goal put Chelsea on course for a win until Wayne Rooney's last-minute equaliser took the game to penalties.

Chelsea goalkeeper Petr Cech then saved from Ryan Giggs and Evra to give Carlo Ancelotti his first trophy in England.