Diego Costa 'head-butt': Did the Chelsea striker put his head into Claudio Yacob?

Referee Mark Clattenburg was right next to the incident

Click to follow
The Independent Online

John Terry was shown a red card in the match between Chelsea and West Brom, but people are asking if Diego Costa should have been shown one too.

Just moments before Terry fouled Solomon Rondon, Costa was involved in an altercation with Claudio Yacob.

With the two sharing words within close proximity, video footage appears to show Costa moving his head in the direction of the West Brom player.

Yacob then put his hand to his nose as if checking to see if it was bleeding.

Clattenburg quickly moved between the pair and pushed them apart but opted not to take any further action.

Watch the incident below...

 

If Costa did head-butt Yacob, the Spain international should have been shown a straight red card for violent conduct.

 

As the players left the pitch after Chelsea's 3-2 win, Costa gave Yacob a hug.

Comments