Henry makes history with writers' award

Click to follow

Thierry Henry has made history by becoming the first player to win the Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year award for the second year running. The Arsenal striker won by the largest margin for 34 years, securing almost 90 per cent of the vote. Chelsea's Frank Lampard was runner-up, while Henry's Highbury team-mate Patrick Vieira came third.

Since the award was introduced in 1947-48, only six other players have won it twice - Sir Stanley Matthews, Sir Tom Finney, Danny Blanchflower, Kenny Dalglish, John Barnes and Gary Lineker and none of those had won in successive seasons.

Henry said: "It's a real honour to receive this award for the second year running, but as I always say it would not have been possible without my team-mates and of course the manager. Thankfully this year we won the Premiership title so I can really enjoy it this time around."