Jose Mourinho wins Premier League Manager of the Year - but is the award the kiss of death?

Since the award was introduced in 1993, only Sir Alex Ferguson and Mourinho in his second season have impressed after winning

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Jose Mourinho was named the Barclays Premier League Manager of the Year on Thursday night - an award that has become a bit of a poisoned chalice.

Since the award was introduced for the 1993-94 season, former Manchester United manager Sir Alex Ferguson has dominated, of course, winning the trophy 11 times.

By winning this year, Jose Mourinho is now joint-second with Arsene Wenger on three, and only other men to win it are Tony Pulis, Alan Padew, Harry Redknapp, George Burley and Kenny Dalglish.

Over the years the award spells more trouble than good, however (see table below) .

What happened the year after winning the Manager of the Year award

If you look through the 21 previous winners, only Ferguson and Mourinho have equalled their achievements of the season before.

Ferguson won the title six times the season after being named Manager of the Year and Mourinho once. Manchester United and Chelsea are the only teams to successfully defend their title in the Premier League era, Blackburn Rovers, Arsenal and Manchester City have not managed it, whilst other managers have experienced huge drops in form.

The year after winning the title and the award, Blackburn boss Kenny Dalglish could only finish seventh, after bringing Ipswich Town into the Premier League and finishing fifth, George Burley's team were relegated a year later.

Mourinho also has experience of this, in 2006-07 Mourinho finished second behind Manchester United after winning the title and the award and he was sacked a couple of months into the next season.

More recently, Harry Redknapp couldn't sustain his Champions League charge and finished fifth in 2009-10.

Alan Pardew's Newcastle finished fifth in 2011-12 and a year later his team narrowly escaped relegation, finishing 17th.

After winning the title in Ferguson's final season, United finished seventh a year later with David Moyes and then Ryan Giggs in charge and last season's winner, Tony Pulis, resigned from his post at Crystal Palace just days before the season started.

Chelsea fans will be hoping that the Manager of the Year award isn't a kiss of death.