Welcome to the new Independent website. We hope you enjoy it and we value your feedback. Please contact us here.

Premier League

Luis Suarez banned: Liverpool will wait 'until we have had time to review' full details of four-month Suarez ban after he's found guilty of biting for a third time

Suarez is set to miss up to 13 matches for Liverpool after he was banned from all forms of football for four months

Liverpool will await the full details of Luis Suarez’s record ban before making a comment, after the Uruguayan striker was handed a four month complete ban from all forms of football as well as a nine-match international suspension for biting Italy defender Giorgio Chiellini.

Follow live reaction of Suarez's record ban here

Chief executive Ian Ayre confirmed that the club will review the Fifa Disciplinary Committee report that has installed the largest ever World Cup ban before making a full comment.

“Liverpool Football Club will wait until we have seen and had time to review the FIFA Disciplinary Committee report before making any further comment,” said a statement issued by Ayre after the news on Thursday afternoon.

The complete ban from football means that not only will Suarez miss up to 13 matches for Liverpool, he is not allowed to step foot in any football stadium for the duration of the ban.

The sanction does not have any impact on a potential summer transfer should Liverpool deem that they now wish to rid themselves of a player that has been found guilty of biting for a third time during his professional career.

However, any potential buyer would be signing Suarez in the full knowledge that he would not be available to play until 27 October given that it is a worldwide ban.

Suarez can appeal the decision, but the suspension will start immediately meaning that his World Cup participation is over.



Games Suarez will miss:

Saturday 28 June: Uruguay v Colombia World Cup second round

Friday 4 July: World Cup quarter-final

Tuesday 8 July: World Cup semi-final

Saturday 12 July: World Cup third place play-off OR Sunday 13 July: World Cup final

Saturday 16 August:  Liverpool v Southampton

Saturday 23 August: Manchester City v Liverpool

Saturday 30 September: Tottenham Hotspur v Liverpool

Saturday 13 September: Liverpool v Aston Villa

Tuesday 16/Wednesday 17 September: Champions League group game

Saturday 20 September: West Ham United v Liverpool

Tuesday 23/Wednesday 24 September: Capital One Cup third round

Saturday 27 October: Liverpool v Everton

Tuesday 30 September/Wednesday 1 October: Champions League group game

Saturday 4 October: Liverpool v West Bromwich Albion

Thursday 9 October: Saudi Arabia v Uruguay

Saturday 18 October: Queens Park Rangers v Liverpool

Tuesday 21/Wednesday 22 October: Champions League group game

Saturday 25 October: Liverpool v Hull City