PFA Player of the Year: The past 10 winners - but what trend could Luis Suarez buck if he wins prestigious award?

A look at the previous winners of the PFA Players' player of the Year award

Click to follow
The Independent Football

With Luis Suarez favourite to win the PFA Player of the Year, and Liverpool in pole position to win the Premier League, one of English footballs stranger trends could be about to come to an end. The player voted for by their peers as the best performer in the top flight has not won the title in any of the last four years, while in each of the last two the winner has started the next season at a new club.

Eight different players, playing for five different clubs, have won the award in the last decade, with only Cristiano Ronaldo doing so in consecutive years. Surprisingly, however, during that time the winner has only scooped the golden boot on three occasions.

Forwards are much more likely to win the award than anyone else, with John Terry the only defender to be voted Player of the Year in the last 20 years. Gareth Bale, meanwhile, is the only player to win the award at a team who failed to qualify for the champions league, a feat he achieved twice in three years.

Take a look at the past 10 winners below by clicking on the gallery:

But who gets your vote? Let us know who you would vote for Player of the Year by commenting below.