PFA Player of the Year: Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge and Steven Gerrard all nominated as Liverpool dominate award shortlist

Anfield trio are joined by Eden Hazard, Yaya Toure and Adam Lallana while Young Players' nominations are also announced

Click to follow
The Independent Football

Premier League leaders Liverpool feature predominantly in the nominations for the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award, with Daniel Sturridge, Luis Suarez and captain Steven Gerrard all on the shortlist for the gong.

They are joined by Chelsea’s Eden Hazard, Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure and Southampton’s England international Adam Lallana, with the winner set to be announced on April 27.

Sturridge accompanies club team-mate Raheem Sterling on the shortlist for the Young Player of the Year award, with Merseyside rival Ross Barkley also nominated after a brilliant breakthrough season that could lead to a fist World Cup campaign. Arsenal midfielder Aaron Ramsey is selected for his impressive form before he picked up a long-term thigh injury, with Southampton and England left-back Luke Shaw and Hazard completing the line-up.

The award ceremony will take place at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London, and with TV channel BT Sport taking over the role as main sponsor this year, presenter Jake Humphrey will host the award ceremony with a 30m-minute highlight show set to be shown on TV the following day.


The Women’s Players Player of the Year award shortlist has also been announced, and is also spearheaded by three Liverpool players after their Women’s Super League-winning season.

Defender Lucy Bronze, striker Natasha Dowie and midfielder Nicole Rolser are all nominated, with Arsenal’s Sibhan Chamberlain and Jordan Nobbs also included. Kim Little, formerly of Arsenal and now across the Atlantic with Seattle Reign, completes the shortlist.

Shaw has been nominated for his fine season for Southampton

PFA Chief Executive Gordon Taylor, OBE, said: "These Awards celebrate outstanding achievement in football and looking at this year's nominations it is clear that this has been an incredibly competitive year.

“Each of the six men nominated for the Players' Award could expect to be recognised by their fellow professionals, as they have each had a superb season individually and played significant roles in the success of their clubs this year.

“The quality of the Young Player nominations is a cause for real celebration. There are some extremely talented players coming through at the highest level of our domestic game and four of the six nominees already play for England, with Aaron Ramsey a stalwart of the Welsh national side.”

Gavin Patterson, Chief Executive of BT Group, added: “We are delighted to extend our support for football by sponsoring the PFA Awards. This year's winners will be joining an extremely distinguished list of previous winners. We are really pleased to show our support for male and female professional players at every level.

“As broadcasters of the Barclays Premier League, FA Cup with Budweiser, FA Women's Super League and the Skrill Football Conference, BT Sport is a growing part of the national game and we aim to help develop the sport and support clubs and players.”

PFA Players' Player of the Year shortlist:

Steven Gerrard - Liverpool

Eden Hazard - Chelsea

Adam Lallana - Southampton

Daniel Sturridge - Liverpool

Luis Suarez - Liverpool

Yaya Toure - Manchester City

PFA Young Player of the Year shortlist:               

Ross Barkley - Everton

Eden Hazard - Chelsea

Aaron Ramsey - Arsenal

Luke Shaw - Southampton

Raheem Sterling - Liverpool

Daniel Sturridge - Liverpool

PFA Women's Players' Player of the Year shortlist:        

Lucy Bronze - Liverpool Ladies

Siobhan Chamberlain - Arsenal Ladies

Natasha Dowie - Liverpool Ladies

Kim Little - Seattle Reign

Jordan Nobbs - Arsenal Ladies

Nicole Rolser - Liverpool Ladies

PFA Women's Young Player of the Year shortlist:

Lucy Bronze - Liverpool Ladies

Danielle Carter -  Arsenal Ladies

Isobel Christiansen - Manchester City Women

Alex Greenwood - Everton Ladies

Martha Harris -  Liverpool Ladies

Jordan Nobbs -  Arsenal Ladies