Racing: Edmondson awarded race writers' accolade

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Richard Edmondson, The Independent's Racing Correspondent, won the journalist of the year award at yesterday's annual Horserace Writers and Photographers Association Derby Awards in London.

Edmondson, who has been The Independent's correspondent since 1990, was presented with the prize at the Royal Lancaster Hotel.

Edmondson beat off competition from last year's winner Alan Lee, of the Times, the Daily Mail's Colin Mackenzie and Tom O'Ryan of the Racing Post.

At The Races' Robert Cooper was named broadcaster of the year, while freelance Bill Selwyn lifted the photographers' award.

Ruby Walsh broke Tony McCoy's nine-year grip on the National Hunt jockeys' award, while the Flat award when to Jamie Spencer .

Paul Nicholls was named the National Hunt trainer of the year and Derby-winning Michael Bell was the Flat trainer of 2005.