Racing: Murtagh misses winner

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Johnny Murtagh is hoping to return to the saddle today after injury ruled him out of yesterday's proceedings at Royal Ascot by the racecourse doctor, forcing him to miss riding the winner of the Royal Hunt Cup, Macadamia.

The Irishman was hit in the face by his mount Red Power and then thrown from the horse before Tuesday's Coventry Stakes.

He continued to ride, winning the King's Stand Stakes on Choisir and finishing second on Kalaman in the St James's Palace Stakes, before he gave up his last ride of the day.

Murtagh was unavailable for comment but Dr Norman Gordon, the racecourse medical officer said yesterday: "He has been stood down for one day as he is still stiff and sore from yesterday. I will review the situation on a day-to-day basis."

Murtagh's place on Macadamia was taken by Dane O'Neill. James Fanshawe, Macadamia's trainer, said: "It's my first Royal Ascot winner and I'm thrilled, especially for Lord Vestey, who is one of my original owners."