Briscoe's brave stop seals thrilling victory for Hull

Hull 20 Hull KR 16
Click to follow

An enthralling 210th Hull derby was won not by any of the attacking skill that illuminated it, but by a last-minute tackle that will not be forgotten in this city for a very long time.

Peter Fox was on his way to scoring the try that would have tied up a magnificent contest when Tom Briscoe, the 20-year-old who has ousted him from the England team, dived to force him into the corner-flag. "It was a great effort from Tommy," said his coach, Richard Agar. "He's a great advert for the future of English rugby league."

"He's certainly a talented kid and it was a great effort from him to snuff out our last chance," said Rovers' coach, Justin Morgan, who thought his side had done well to have kept within striking distance.

The rugby was interrupted by a mass brawl 12 minutes from time that led to Ben Cockayne and Mark Calderwood being sent to the sin-bin, but this match deserves to be remembered for its intensity.

Hull began it in dominant fashion, going ahead when Danny Houghton spotted a gap. Danny Tickle added the goal, plus another when Cockayne was penalised for moving off the mark. Rovers responded when Josh Charnley cruised through Hull's defence. Michael Dobson tagged on the goal before the home side extended their lead with a Tickle penalty.

Hull's lead did not last long into the second half, Clint Newton scoring after a storming run. There was a rare spirit about Hull, though, and they regained the lead with Willie Manu's try. Another followed when Calderwood put in a superb cross for Shaun Berrigan.

The richly skilled Liam Watts kept Rovers in it when he dummied over but they were to be denied by Briscoe.

Hull Whiting ; Calderwood, Turner, Yeaman, T Briscoe; Tansey, Horne; Dowes, Houghton, Radford, Manu, Tickle, Washbrook.Substitutes used Moa, Cusack, Lauaki, Berrigan.

Hull KR S Briscoe; Fox, Charnley, Cockayne, Latus; Murrell, Dobson; Wheeldon, Fisher, Clinton, Newton, Galea, Watts. Substitutes used Cook, Netherton, Hodgson, Lovegrove.

Referee P Bentham (Warrington).