Super League cut down to 12 teams from end of next season

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Super League will be cut to 12 teams at the end of next season, it was confirmed last night, when the 14 clubs finally ruled out a proposal to go down to 10. It is thought only four clubs were in favour of keeping that option open, with just Huddersfield pushing strongly for it.

The clubs agreed last month to reduce their number and ditch the licensing system in favour of restoring promotion and relegation.

The decision means that two clubs will be relegated at the end of next season and the RFL have confirmed that outpost clubs London Broncos and Catalan Dragons will no longer be exempt. Chief executive Nigel Wood said: "The clubs engaged in a robust and frank debate about the future."