Golf: Open returns to Lytham

Click to follow
The Independent Online
The Open Championship will return to Royal Lytham in 2001 after a gap of just five years. Although Muirfield has not staged the event since 1992 and Royal St George's in Kent since 1993, the Royal and Ancient Club have awarded Lytham its 10th Open.

America' Tom Lehman won there last year and the other winners are some of the greats of the game - Seve Ballesteros (1979 and 1988), Gary Player (1974), Tony Jacklin (1969), Bob Charles (1963), Peter Thomson (1958), Bobby Locke (1952) and Bobby Jones (1926).

Lytham holds the record for the biggest crowd outside St Andrews - a total of 191,334 in 1988.