Disqualified pair to receive prize-money from Open

Click to follow
The Independent Online

Mark Roe and Jesper Parnevik will receive prize-money for finishing joint 74th in the 132nd Open Championship despite being disqualified. The Championship Committee decided to waive the condition prohibiting prize money for anyone disqualified but the cheque for £8,250 will feel like small change to Roe, who was in contention for the £700,000 first prize won eventually by the little-known American Ben Curtis.

Roe was joint fourth at Royal St George's after a brilliant third-round 67, but his Open ended along with that of his Swedish playing partner after the pair accidentally signed each other's cards.

The Royal and Ancient club has insisted that the rules of the game will not be changed to prevent a similar controversy but the sport's governing body has promised a thorough review of procedures following Saturday's scorecard mix-up.

Roe had called for a rule change, claiming a "clerical error" should not have denied him the chance to compete in Sunday's final round, and steps will now be taken to ensure such incidents are not repeated.

Peter Dawson, the secretary of the R and A, said: "The Mark Roe incident was obviously a great tragedy - no-one ever likes to see that - and we'd be crazy not to review our procedures thoroughly, because incidents of this kind are very undesirable.

"We shall pause for reflection over the winter before next year's championship and have a thorough review of it.

"The rules of golf, however, are unlikely to be adjusted because of this incident, because it is a central pillar of the game that people are responsible for their own score, and if you try to write a rule about that then you cannot actually write one which says it just applies to people who are on television. That is a non-starter.

"It is not to say that our procedures did not break down, because they did, and the error should have been picked up in the recorders' hut but it wasn't. There is some degree of blame there, but there is no transfer of responsibility."

Roe, however, was of a different view, saying, "I don't feel I made a mistake on Saturday - it was a clerical error, it was nothing to do with the game of golf, it was a piece of paper. My score was 67."

Comments