Sweden's Peter Hanson overcame a one-shot penalty to win his third European Tour title in a play-off with Spain's Alejandro Canizares in Majorca yesterday.
Only a slow-motion television camera caught the fact that Hanson clipped his chip on the 12th a second time on his follow-through. After being told about it by the Tour's chief referee John Paramor, two holes later the 32-year-old fell two behind with four to play.
But birdie putts of 12- and 30-feet at the 15th and 17th brought him level, he saved par from a bunker at the last and then won when Canizares failed to get up and down from the same trap on the first extra hole.
The pair had both been two behind at the start of the final round of the Iberdrola Open Cala Millor Mallorca at Pula, but while leaders Pelle Edberg and Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano slumped to four over par 74s, they shot 66.Reuse content