The Masters 2013: in numbers

Ahead of the action in Augusta, we select 18 poignant figures

Click to follow
The Independent Online


12 - In the 1997 Masters, Tiger Woods set a record for widest margin of victory, 12 strokes


25 - Phil Mickelson has more Birdies in one tournament than anyone else, with 25 in 2001


213 - The longest hole in one shot was a 213-yarder taken by Jeff Sluman at the 4th in 1992


6.83 - Tiger Woods has amassed more Masters prize money than anyone else, collecting $6.83m in his 18 tournaments


79 -Gary Player has the record for oldest international player to start, competing in 2009 at the age of 73, but Fred McLeod is the oldest ever starter, at 79, in 1962


46 - The oldest ever winner was Jack Nicklaus in 1986, triumphing at the age of 46


274 - The lowest 72-hole total posted without winning was a 274 from David Duval in 2001. That is the same total that won Charl Schwartzel the title in 2011


63 - The lowest ever first round was posted by Greg Norman in 1996. He shot 63


5 - Outside of the US more winners have come from South Africa than anywhere else, with 5. Player triumphed 3 times, Trevor Immelman won in 2008 and Schwartzel won in 2011


12 -The State of Texas has provided 12 winners in Georgia, most recently including Ben Crenshaw in 1995


8 - The best comeback in Masters history came from 8 strokes back on the final round, with Jack Burke doing it in 1956 and Player doing it in 1978


3 - 3 players have won back to back Masters titles - Jack Nicklaus (1965, 1966), Tiger Woods (2001, 2002) and Nick Faldo (1989, 1990). Bubba Watson is this year's defending champion


5 - The Masters has been won by a Brit 5 times - Nick Faldo (1989, 1990, 1996), Sandy Lyle (1988) and Ian Woosnam (1991)


6 - The last 6 Masters champions had all failed to win a tournament in the year leading up to their win at Augusta, with all six going onto finish outside the top 15 the next year


7 - Lee Westwood has managed 7 top 3 finishes in Majors since 2008, the most by anyone who has not gone onto to win at least one of them


13 - There will be 13 Brits competing in this year's competition. The figure consists of 5 Englishmen, 2 Welshmen, 3 Scots and 2 Northern Irishmen


17 - There has been 17 years since Nick Faldo triumphed in 1997, the last occasion a Briton won the Masters


16 -There have been 16 different winners who have triumphed in the last 17 Major championships, with Northern Ireland's Rory Mcilroy the only man to win two in that time. Nine of the last eleven have been first time major winners