When does the Ryder Cup start?

All the information you need for the biennial tournament

Click to follow
The Independent Online

The 2014 Ryder Cup takes place in Gleneagles from Friday 26 September to Sunday 29 September.

The match play competition is contested every two years between USA and Europe.

For the first two days, there will be 4 foursome and 4 fourball matches on each day, On the third and and final day there will be 12 singles matches.

Each match is worth one point, if it is level then then each side is awarded half a point.

There is 28 points available. 14.5 points will win the trophy, while 14 is enough to retain it.

Please see the gallery below for the full teams...


Captains: Paul McGinley for Europe, Tom Watson for the US. The captains decide on the parings for the foursome and fourball matches and the order of the singles matches.

TV: Sky Sports Ryder Cup (what Sky Sports 4 will be known as during the tournament).


Europe to win: 1.67

USA to win: 2.62

Tie: 11