Hastings in line for caps record

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Rugby Union

Scotland have made two changes for the second Test against New Zealand at Eden Park, Auckland, on Saturday. The inclusion of Scott Hastings means the Watsonians outside centre will win a record 62nd cap. Hastings, who missed the 62-31 defeat in the first Test at Dunedin last weekend with a knee injury, had held the record jointly with his brother Gavin, who has now retired.

The other change is on the right wing where Tony Stanger returns at the expense of Craig Joiner. Stanger may be spared the ordeal of facing up to Jonah Lomu who sustained a knee injury in the first Test.

Wales have dropped the tight-head prop John Davies for the second Test against Australia in Sydney on Saturday. Lyndon Mustoe is in as one of three changes from the team beaten 56-25 in the first Test in Brisbane.

Injuries ruled out the centre Leigh Davies and flanker Gwyn Jones. Simon Hill comes in on the left wing to win his ninth cap with Andrew Gibbs at blind-side flanker in his third appearance.

There are also three positional changes, Gareth Thomas switching to the centre, Steve Williams moving to open-side flanker and Hemi Taylor back to his favoured No 8 spot.

SCOTLAND (v New Zealand, Auckland, second Test, Saturday): R Shepherd (Melrose); A Stanger (Hawick), S Hastings (Watsonians), I Jardine (Stirling County), K Logan (Stirling County); G Townsend (Northampton), G Armstrong (Newcastle); D Hilton (Bath), K McKenzie (Stirling County), P Wright (Boroughmuir), D Cronin (Bourges), G Weir (Newcastle), R Wainwright (Watsonians, capt), E Peters (Bath), I Smith (Gloucester). Replacements: D Stark (Boroughmuir), C Chalmers (Melrose), A Nicol (Bath), S Murray (Edinburgh Academicals), T Smith (Watsonians), G Ellis (Currie).

WALES (v Australia, Sydney, second Test, Saturday): W Proctor (Llanelli); I Evans (Llanelli), G Thomas (Pontypridd), N Davies (Llanelli), S Hill (Cardiff); N Jenkins (Pontypridd), R Howley (Richmond); C Loader (Swansea), J Humphreys (Cardiff, capt), L Mustoe (Cardiff), G Llewellyn (Harlequins), D Jones (Cardiff), A Gibbs (Newbridge), H Taylor (Cardiff), S Williams (Neath). Replacements: D James (Bridgend), A Thomas (Swansea), A Moore (Cardiff), M Voyle (Newport), J Davies (Neath), B Williams (Neath).