Hockey: Double delight for Sixsmith

JANE SIXSMITH'S delight on Monday at becoming the first hockey player to feature in the Sports Writers' Personality of the Year awards was increased yesterday at the draw for the fourth round of the AEWHA Cup. She finished third behind Sally Gunnell and Laura Davis for the Sportswomen of the Year title, and in the Cup, the team she captains, First Personnel Sutton Coldfield, have drawn Second Division opposition in the form of Bracknell.

'I am pleased to have missed First Division opponents but would have preferred a home tie,' Sixsmith said. 'Swinney will be saving for some more jugs,' she added, referring to the nine goals Jane Swinnerton scored in their record third-round 15-0 win against Harrow.

Of the other leading teams, Hightown, the Cup-holders, should win at Bournemouth, the current League leaders Ipswich entertain Second Division Harleston Magpies and the three-time champions Slough travel to Ormskirk.

At least two non-National League clubs will reach the fifth round. One will come from the East Super League match in which St Albans meet Berkhamstead and Hemel Hempstead, the team they beat narrowly, 1-0, in a League fixture last month. The St Albans coach, Keith Rowley, said: 'Brilliant] Another home draw] It will be tight but the team has made great strides in recent weeks and I am confident.' The other guaranteed non- National League survivor will come from the tie between North Staffs and Leyland Motors.

Dulwich, the giant-killers who accounted for National League Cambridge City in the previous round, have a short but difficult trip to First Division Wimbledon.

WOMEN'S AEWHA CUP Fourth-round draw: Bournemouth v Hightown; Bracknell v First Personel Sutton Coldfield; Chelmsford v Canterbury; Cheltenham v Blueharts; Doncaster v Clifton; Dulwich v Wimbledon; Guildford v Ealing; Ipswich v Harleston Magpies; Liverpool v Yate; Loughborough Students v Bradford Swithenbank; North Staffs v Leyland Motors; Ormskirk v Slough; Reading v Exmouth; St Albans v Berkhamstead & Hemel Hempstead; Saracens v Leicester Balsam; Sunderland Bedans v Sherwood. (Matches to be played on Sunday 24 January).

Have you tried new the Independent Digital Edition apps?
Caption competition
Caption competition
  • Get to the point
Latest stories from i100
Daily Quiz
Independent Dating

By clicking 'Search' you
are agreeing to our
Terms of Use.

Career Services
iJobs Job Widget
iJobs General

Recruitment Genius: Senior Digital Marketing Consultant

£28000 - £45000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: A Senior Digital Marketing Cons...

Recruitment Genius: Assistant Stores Keeper

£16640 - £18500 per annum: Recruitment Genius: An Assistant Stores Keeper is r...

Recruitment Genius: Claims Administrator

£16000 - £18500 per annum: Recruitment Genius: This is an excellent opportunit...

Recruitment Genius: Software Developer - C# / ASP.NET / SQL

£17000 - £30000 per annum: Recruitment Genius: Developer required to join a bu...

Day In a Page

Fishing for votes with Nigel Farage: The Ukip leader shows how he can work an audience as he casts his line to the disaffected of Grimsby

Fishing is on Nigel Farage's mind

Ukip leader casts a line to the disaffected
Who is bombing whom in the Middle East? It's amazing they don't all hit each other

Who is bombing whom in the Middle East?

Robert Fisk untangles the countries and factions
China's influence on fashion: At the top of the game both creatively and commercially

China's influence on fashion

At the top of the game both creatively and commercially
Lord O’Donnell: Former cabinet secretary on the election and life away from the levers of power

The man known as GOD has a reputation for getting the job done

Lord O'Donnell's three principles of rule
Rainbow shades: It's all bright on the night

Rainbow shades

It's all bright on the night
'It was first time I had ever tasted chocolate. I kept a piece, and when Amsterdam was liberated, I gave it to the first Allied soldier I saw'

Bread from heaven

Dutch survivors thank RAF for World War II drop that saved millions
Britain will be 'run for the wealthy and powerful' if Tories retain power - Labour

How 'the Axe' helped Labour

UK will be 'run for the wealthy and powerful' if Tories retain power
Rare and exclusive video shows the horrific price paid by activists for challenging the rule of jihadist extremists in Syria

The price to be paid for challenging the rule of extremists

A revolution now 'consuming its own children'
Welcome to the world of Megagames

Welcome to the world of Megagames

300 players take part in Watch the Skies! board game in London
'Nymphomaniac' actress reveals what it was really like to star in one of the most explicit films ever

Charlotte Gainsbourg on 'Nymphomaniac'

Starring in one of the most explicit films ever
Robert Fisk in Abu Dhabi: The Emirates' out-of-sight migrant workers helping to build the dream projects of its rulers

Robert Fisk in Abu Dhabi

The Emirates' out-of-sight migrant workers helping to build the dream projects of its rulers
Vince Cable interview: Charging fees for employment tribunals was 'a very bad move'

Vince Cable exclusive interview

Charging fees for employment tribunals was 'a very bad move'
Iwan Rheon interview: Game of Thrones star returns to his Welsh roots to record debut album

Iwan Rheon is returning to his Welsh roots

Rheon is best known for his role as the Bastard of Bolton. It's gruelling playing a sadistic torturer, he tells Craig McLean, but it hasn't stopped him recording an album of Welsh psychedelia
Morne Hardenberg interview: Cameraman for BBC's upcoming show Shark on filming the ocean's most dangerous predator

It's time for my close-up

Meet the man who films great whites for a living
Increasing numbers of homeless people in America keep their mobile phones on the streets

Homeless people keep mobile phones

A homeless person with a smartphone is a common sight in the US. And that's creating a network where the 'hobo' community can share information - and fight stigma - like never before