Hockey: Varsity call-up for South African

Click to follow
The Independent Online
WAYNE GRAHAM, who is currently captaining the South Africans in the Africa Cup, has been chosen by Oxford for next Tuesday's University match at Reading.

The teams, who will be meeting for the 93rd time, were announced yesterday in London and Grant Edwards, the Oxford captain, came up with a side containing eight Blues.

There are no surprises in the Cambridge side led by John MacCormick who, like Edwards, is a New Zealander. Much will depend on MacCormick and last year's captain, Paul Harvey, in midfield. The scoring powers of Richard Lloyd will be crucial to the cause, while in defence Charlie Blishen and the German Axel Walter are the key players.

The all-round strength of Oxford points to a Dark Blue victory, but nothing is certain in the University match. Although Oxford have won for the last two years, John Cadnam's record as Cambridge coach - six wins in the last nine meetings - cannot be dismissed.

Oxford, meanwhile, maintained their challenge to become the first university side to win a National League place when they beat Marden Russets 1-0 in a Peroni South Premier B Division League game at the weekend.

Although they trail City of Portsmouth and Gore Court, who could only draw, by a point, the Dark Blues have the luxury of a game in hand. Adam Laird scored the all-important goal with 15 minutes remaining.

In the Norwich Union East Premier League, a goal from Richard Jubb sank the Light Blues 1-0 at Westcliff. Crostyx, with Tony Puddick scoring twice for their 2-0 win against Ford, maintained the leadership ahead of Redbridge and Ilford, who were without a game.

OXFORD UNIVERSITY (v Cambridge, University match, Reading, 23 February): T Wigmore (Christ Church); R Markham (Mansfield), A Minson (Balliol), P Bell (Lincoln), M Meredith (Pembroke), G Edwards (Lincoln, capt), S Griffiths (University), M Hoskin (Keble), J Ralph (Brasenose), W Graham (Keble), A Laird (Brasenose). Substitutes: B Ellison (Keble), R MacDowell (St Benet's Hall), S Liddle (Worcester), M Keylock (St Catherine's).

CAMBRIDGE UNIVERSITY: C Blishen (St John's); J Stott (Homerton), P Harvey (St Catharine's), T McCarthy (St John's), M Carver (Corpus Christi), J MacCormick (Corpus Christi, capt), C Carter (Girton ), D Bolgar (Homerton), J Arscott (Magdalene), R Lloyd (St John's), A Walther (Trinity). Substitutes: R Cake (St John's), J Foley (St John's), W Ashworth (Emmanuel), A Battye (Trinity), D Lynch (Gonville and Caius).