Ice Hockey: Championship ices cake for Welsh wizards: Devils' deluge of goals in second period enables Cardiff to repeat grand slam

Click to follow
The Independent Online
THE 10th and last Heineken Championship saw Cardiff Devils repeat their ice hockey grand slam of 1990 when they added the Championship Cup to the League trophy and the Benson and Hedges Cup, beating Humberside Seahawks 7-4 in yesterday's final.

Devils who had defeated Murrayfield Racers 9-0 in Friday's semi-final faced a Seahawks side who had had to go into sudden-death overtime to beat Nottingham Panthers 5-4 on Saturday. The differential rest period told.

Devils won the game in the second period with four goals in nine minutes. Shannon Hope latched on to a Hilton Ruggles rebound off Killen which was followed by a defensive error by Seahawks leaving Doug McEwen, who had opened the scoring in the first period, to feed Ian Cooper on the left. Stephen Cooper, Ian's brother, made it

4-0 two minutes later.

Steve Cadieux made it 5-0 and Humberside's only consolation was Kevin MacNaught's marker late in the second period. Thirty seconds into the third Ruggles made it 6-1 before McEwen supplied the seventh.

Mike Bishop scored for Seahawks with 10 minutes to go and Dan Dorion followed him up seconds later to make it 7-3. With just over a minute left, Dorion scored his second. It was too little too late for Seahawks.

HEINEKEN CHAMPIONSHIP: Final: Cardiff Devils 7 Humberside Seahawks 4.

(Photograph omitted)