Lineen plays final match for Boroughmuir

Boroughmuir 45 Heriot's FP 0
Click to follow
The Independent Online
Melrose, the league champions, could run into a wave of emotion when they attempt to win the Tennents Scottish Cup at the expense of Boroughmuir in the final at Murrayfield on 10 May.

Moments after helping his side complete a comprehensive six-try victory over Heriot's FP, Sean Lineen, Boroughmuir's veteran international, confirmed that he will be playing his last match before retiring at the age of 34.

Lineen, who came over from New Zealand in 1988 and was soon winning the first of 29 Scottish caps after it was established that he had suitable family credentials, is one of the most popular players to have graced the scene in recent years. His organisational abilities are now helping bring the best out of young backs such as Ally McLean and Campbell Aitken.

It was, however, another veteran, the 33-year-old Dougie Wyllie, who stole the show at Malleny Park with an eye catching display at stand-off to dismantle a Heriot's side who struggled throughout, and at the line- out in particular. Wyllie, who won 18 caps between 1987 and 1994, gave the scoring pass on three occasions and then rounded off a virtuoso display by gathering his own kick ahead to cross for the final try.

Three penalties by Aitken put Boroughmuir 9-0 ahead, before tries on either side of the interval by McLean and Laird made the outcome a formality.

Melrose had to work harder to see off Kirkcaldy, the Third Division champions, 36-9 at Galashiels in the other semi-final.

Kirkcaldy had their prop forward and captain, Willie Anderson, sent off for stamping and although they battled on bravely the handicap proved too much. The winger Mark Moncrieff led a second-half charge by Melrose, who had turned round 10-9 in front, by running in three tries.

Boroughmuir: Tries McLean 2, Laird, Renton, Wyllie, Paris; Conversions Aitken 3; Penalties Aitken 3.

Boroughmuir: C Aitken (B Reekie, 70); N Renton, D Laird, S Lineen, A McLean; D Wyllie, G Beveridge (A Knight, 72); S Paris, K Allan, A Penman, D Burns, G McCallum (P Jennings, 55), A Cadzow, S Reid (S Wands, 60), R Kirkpatrick.

Heriot's FP: P Smith; D Proctor, S Clark, H Gilmour, E Bunney; G Ross, F McMillan (D Fowler, 61); J Bryce, C Turnbull, A Binnie, D Boswall, P Young, J Bell, T McVie (S Elliot, 35), G Dall (A Dall, 64).

Referee: R Megson (Edinburgh Wanderers).