Macc lads celebrate

Click to follow
The Independent Online
Macclesfield Town 3 Northwich Victoria 1

Macclesfield Town, the first winners of the FA Trophy in 1970, achieved their second success in the competition with an exciting victory over their GM Vauxhall Conference rivals, Northwich, at Wembley yesterday.

Both Cheshire teams took time to settle, with a gusting wind blowing around the stadium, but Macclesfield made the breakthrough after 19 minutes when Mark Gardiner curled in a free-kick and Steve Payne headed home from eight yards.

Nine minutes later Macclesfield scored again when the Northwich centre- half, Dave Burgess, diverted a low cross from Mark Coates into his own net.

Ian Cooke wasted a great opportunity for Northwich when he headed against the woodwork a minute later, but eight minutes into the second half Carwyn Williams reduced the arrears.

Macclesfield, however, sealed victory after 81 minutes when Tony Hemmings, playing against his former club, finished off a run from inside his own half with a low shot past Dean Greygoose.

The Northwich full-back, Derek Ward, was sent off after 83 minutes for his second bookable offence, while the attendance of 8,672 was the lowest for a Trophy final.

Macclesfield Town: Price; Edey, Gardiner, Payne, Howarth, Sorvel, Lyons, Wood (Hulme, 84), Coates, Power, Hemmings (Cavell, 90). Substitute not used: Bradshaw.

Northwich Victoria: Greygoose; Ward, Duffy, Burgess (Simpson, 88), Abel (Steele, 77), Walters, Williams, Butler, Cooke, Humphreys, Vicary. Substitute not used: Ball (gk).

Referee: M Reed (Birmingham).